

New Hampshire Association of Conservation Commissions

SERVING NEW HAMPSHIRE'S COMMUNITIES SINCE 1970

54 Portsmouth Street, Concord, NH 03301 | (603) 224-7867 | www.nhacc.org

Minutes of the NHACC Annual Business Meeting November 6, 2021 Virtually Held via Zoom

Present: Board – Zach Boyajian (President), Lesley Johnson (Vice President), Jim Owers (Treasurer), Kristen Murphy (Secretary), Jennifer Beck, Lisa Morin, David Nieman, Kathy Schillemat, Larry Spencer, Daniel Moore, and Jerold Theis participating **Staff** – Barbara Richter (Executive Director)

Call to order by President Zach Boyajian at 8:30 am

President's Remarks Zach Boyajian began the annual meeting by welcoming member conservation commissions and recognizing our annual meeting sponsor, Amy Manzelli of BCM. He discussed the importance our natural world provides for human health and the role it has played during this pandemic. He recognized departing board member Cris Blackstone and provided an introduction of our current board of director's members and staff. Executive Director Barbara Richter talked of the pleasure we get from natural spaces and how they serve as her anchor of joy. She recognized the role conservation commissions play in protecting our natural spaces and highlighted our 50th anniversary. She also mentioned the additional services CCs are providing for pollinator pathways, community outreach and education, and discussed the past year's activities in support of CCs. She thanks our commission members and the significant role they play, and extended her gratitude to our sponsors.

Consent Agenda Zach identified that the consent agenda would review standard business items followed by one vote from all conservation commission members via a zoom poll.

Minutes of the 2020 Annual Business Meeting were reviewed, no comments or questions.

Financial/Treasurer's Report. Jim Owers presented an overview of the financial status indicating that we made it successfully through the pandemic and discussed grants received. No comments/questions.

Nominating Committee: Zach Boyajian presented the report of the nominating committee and introduced its current year members: Kristen Murphy, David Neiman, Kathy Schillemat, Larry Spencer, and sought nominations from the floor for additional committee members. None proposed.

Kathy Schillemat presented the nomination of new Board of Director Michelle Lowe and the slate of officers for the upcoming year. It includes Zack Boyajian (President) Leslie Johnson (Vice President), Kristen Murphy (Secretary), Jim Owers (Treasurer) and named those board members continuing to serve. A vote was sent to all attendees via poll, resulting in a unanimous vote to approve the consent agenda. Business meeting closed at 8:58 and Zach introduced Amy Manzelli (BCM) who then introduced our keynote speaker Florence Williams.

Respectfully Submitted by Kristen Murphy